EDGEHOG
Search…
Device Life Cycle
As we know in the real world, several things can happen to a device in the field. The options on this page are available to cover those cases such as failures, theft, or various malfunctions that can happen to a device in your fleet.
Use the 3-dots menu on top of the right of the device page to access the following options
Device 3-dot menu
The Decommission, Replace Gateway, and Reinstall OS operations cannot be cancelled.

Decommission

There are two possible scenarios in which it may be useful to use this option:
  • the machine to which the gateway is connected is broken and I want to recover the working gateway
  • the machine to which the gateway is connected has been stolen, together with the gateway, so the gateway is no longer recoverable.
Decommissioning a device means making it no longer operational and revoking the MQTT access certificate. The data of the device remains recorded so you can consult the latest information received from it.
The decommissioned device remains in the list of devices but will not be possible to perform operations on it (e.g. SSH, geolocation, update).
After decommissioning the device, the gateway will no longer be on the gateway list.
If you still have the gateway available and want to use it again, it must be returned to the factory default configuration by flashing a clean EDGEHOG OS. From that moment on the first connection, it will register again in the portal and will be available in the list for a new device.

Replace Gateway

This option can be used in the scenario where the machine to which the gateway is connected is still working, but the gateway paired is no longer working. Therefore, you want to replace the non-functioning gateway in this device with another new one available on the list.
By using the Replace Gateway function the identification information of the device will not be lost. However, the last status information of the device will be lost.
After the Replace Gateway, the old replaced gateway will no longer be on the gateway list.
If the replaced gateway is still working and want to use it again, it must be returned to the factory default configuration by flashing a clean EDGEHOG OS. From that moment on the first connection, it will register again in the portal and will be available in the list for a new device.

Reinstall OS

This option can be used in all those cases where there is the need to format the gateway associated with a device, installing again EDGEHOG OS, to bring it back to a clean configuration.
This operation revokes the old MQTT certificate. The device remains registered so that you can see the last status information.
After flashing a clean EDGEHOG OS, the gateway must be restarted so that it can connect to Server again. The Server will notice that the gateway was already registered and, if you have used the Reinstall OS button, will allow the re-registration. A new MQTT certificate will then be issued.
Please be sure to use the Reinstall OS function after having flashed the new clean EDGEHOG OS on the gateway, otherwise, the new needed certificates will be lost.
No information on the device is lost, but it will be able to connect again with a newly issued MQTT certificate.
With the Restore Applications option you can decide whether the Docker Applications associated with that device model should be restored to the state they were in before flashing the clean OS (eg. they are automatically re-installed if they were previously installed)
Last modified 11mo ago